Webcasts

View July’s webcast here!

Wednesday, July 10th, 2019 from 12pm-1pm EDT (11am CDT, 10am MDT, 9am PDT)

July 2019 Webcast: Strategic Management of Stiltgrass in the Wake of Early Detection

w/ guests Becky Gajewski and Katie Carlisle

“One of the biggest conundrums any land manager / property owner / community faces is how to respond to the early detection of an aggressive invasive species. Stiltgrass (Microstegium vimineum), a notoriously invasive sprawling grass introduced from Asia in the early 20th century when it was used as packing material for fine china, was recently discovered for the first time in southeast MI. Learn how the community of land managers and private property owners quickly banded together and rather than wait for this species to invade their property worked quickly, strategically and in coordinated fashion. Most organizations and individuals were already part of The Stewardship Network Huron-Arbor Cluster which allowed for the capacity of an immediate control effort in combination with significant on-the-ground efforts by the landowners to form the Wasthenaw County Stiltgrass Working Group and how they are addressing this urgent issue.”

Our guests this month are Becky Gajewski and Katie Carlisle:

Becky Gajewski​ ​is​ ​a​ ​Stewardship​ ​Specialist​ ​for​ ​the​ ​Natural​ ​Area​ ​Preservation​ ​(NAP)​ division​ of​ ​the​ ​City of​ ​Ann​ ​Arbor’s​ ​Parks​ ​and​ ​Recreation​ ​Services Unit, where her mission is to protect and restore Ann Arbor’s natural areas and to foster an environmental ethic among its citizens.​ ​With several years of experience in ecological restoration, botany, and parks, she​ ​oversees​ ​NAP’s​ ​biological inventory​ ​program​ and assists with management planning for park natural areas. As manager of the inventory program, she coordinates two field biologists and numerous volunteers who participate in several citizen science-based wildlife survey programs. Becky ​is​ ​also in​ ​charge​ ​of​ ​data​ ​management​ ​and​ ​mapping for NAP and serves as a burn boss on prescribed burns.​ She​ ​graduated​ ​from the University of Michigan School of Natural Resources and Environment​ ​with​ ​an​ ​MS​ in Natural Resources and Environment,​ ​and​ ​also​ holds a​ ​certificate​ ​in​ ​GIS​ ​from​ ​Penn​ ​State​ ​University.

Katie Carlisle is the Stewardship Coordinator at Washtenaw County Parks and Recreation Commission. She is responsible for protecting and enhancing natural features in Washtenaw County Parks and Preserves in addition to promoting and coordinating volunteer opportunities. After receiving a Master’s of Science in Geophysics from Boise State University, she spent several years doing outdoor education, volunteer coordination, and stewardship work.

%d bloggers like this: